2012 OVS “Star Appeal” End-of-Year Concert

Theme: “Star Appeal… We all have it!” Semi-Formal Dinner Event
Attire: Glamour
Date: Sunday 16th December, 2012
Time: 6 – 9pm (2 Acts with an Interval)
Doors Open: 5.45pm
Sound Check: 5.15 – 5.45pm (Performer’s Only)
Venue: Greenbank Community Hall – 145 Teviot Road, Greenbank QLD 4124
Details: Smorgasbord Dinner and Beverages will be on sale during the interval; this is a non-alcoholic and cash sale only event (no eftpos available); there will be a Lucky Door Prize so hold on to your tickets stubs
OVS End-of-Year Awards: the OVS Awards for Voice of the Year, Talent of the Year and Student of the Year will be presented and all Performer’s will receive a Certificate of Participation
Entry Fee: $5.00 per person (Free entry for OVS Students, Guest Performers and Concert Crew)

Congratulations to the 2012 OVS End-of-Year Award Recipients:
Voice of the Year – Kaelyn Savea
Talent of the Year – Jasmine McCowan
Student of the Year – Sophie Tatnell

Congratulations to:
Lauren Hanser – Sponsor’s Choice Award Recipient
The Tatnell’s – The Lucky Door Prize Winners

Thank you to our Concerts Co-Host, Danielle Ward, who did a fabulous job!

Congratulations to the Concerts Star Performers:
Aaliyah Dobson-Gardner
Ainsleigh Johnson
Daniela Veljkovic
Danielle Ward
Ebony Brien
Fushia Tongpao
Hannah Ruffin
Jade Marshall
Jai Gunning
Jasmine McCowan
Jessica Lee
Kaelyn Savea
Lauren Hanser
Leisha DeVries
Louisa Paua
Oceania Soakai
Sheriden Davison
Shirley Hockey
Sophie Tatnell
Tariah Wells
Tatyana Nansen
Zoe Jolly

Concert Program:

1. Daniel Ivinson (Poetry Recital, Special Guest Artist) – The Star is there within You” (Daniel Ivinson)
2. Ofelia Guizzon – One Moment in Time (Whitney Houston)
3. Daniela Veljkovic – Sing a Rainbow (Children’s Lullaby)
4. Jessica Lee – People Help the People (Birdy)
5. Jai Gunning – Count on Me (Bruno Mars)
6. Sophie Tatnell – Skinny Love (Birdy)
7. Ebony Brien – Price Tag (Jessie J)
8. Jasmine McCowan – The Lazy Song (Bruno Mars)
9. Tatyana Nansen & Oceania Soakai – Valerie (Amy Winehouse)
10. Louisa Paua – I’m Yours (Jason Mraz)
11. Fushia Tongpao – Moment for Life (Nicki Minaj)
12. Ainsleigh Johnson – And the Boys (Angus & Julia Stone)
13. Lauren Hanser – Hurt (Christina Aguilera)
14. Fushia Tongpao & Leisha DeVries – Nothing on You (B.O.B. ft Bruno Mars)
15. Sheriden Davison – Little House (Amanda Seyfried)
16. Kaelyn Savea – Original (Kaelyn Savea)
17. Shirley Hockey – Christmas in Hawaii (Shirley Hockey)
18. OVS End-of-Year Award Presentations

1. Daniel Ivinson (Poetry Recital, Special Guest Artist) – Dreams
2. Ofelia Guizzon – Waka Waka (Shakira)
3. Daniela Veljkovic – Little April Shower (Bambi)
4. Aaliyah Dobson-Gardner – Someone Like You (Excerpt, Adele)
5. Jade Marshall – Butterfly Fly Away (Miley Cyrus)
6. Jessica Lee – Different World’s (Jes Hudak)
7. Ebony Brien – Rockin’ Robin’ (Michael Jackson)
8. Danielle Ward – The Story of Us (Taylor Swift)
9. Jai Gunning – Saltwater (Julian Lennon)
10. Sophie Tatnell – Who’d Have Known (Lily Allen)
11. Hannah Ruffin – Try (Pink)
12. Oceania Soakai – If I Ain’t Got You (Alicia Keys)
13. Zoe Jolly – Bound to You (Christina Aguilera)
14. Tariah Wells – Secret Box (Original)
15. Leisha DeVries – You’ve Got the Love (Florence and the Machine)
16. Lauren Hanser – Super Bass (Nicki Minaj); Backing Vocals – Fushia Tongpao and Leisha DeVries
17. Ainsleigh Johnson – Lego House (Ed Sheeran)
18. Kaelyn Savea – Casualty of Love (Jessie J)
19. Shirley Hockey – Christmas the Night Away (Shirley Hockey)
20. Certificate and Award Presentations
16. Finale Group Impromptu Performance – Deck the Halls (Christmas Carol)

There were a handful of people who kindly volunteered their time and efforts to make the concert a success in bring the “Star Appeal” experience to the OVS student performer’s and to make it an enjoyable night for our guests.
Thank you to my fiancé, Daniel for writing the poem “The Star is there Within You” especially for the concert which opened Act 1 and for allowing me to use your poem “Dreams” to open up Act 2. Thank you for being the concert Supervisor and doing, once again, a terrific job in looking after all the performer’s back stage and on stage.
Thank you to my mum, Lisi for catering the delicious smorgasbord XMas dinner. Food Glorious Food!
Thank you to Roslyn for managing the door and for all of your assistance on the day.
Thank you to Gerard for all of your hard work and invaluable assistance on the day.
Thank you to OVS Student’s Hans & Rowena Braaskma, Sarah Lowry and Shirley Hockey for your amazing efforts on the day setting up, packing down and throughout the concert.
Thank you to Sandy for running the Beverage Stall and for all your help on the day.
Thank you to my brother, Nestore for running the sound production.
Thank you to Ergonomic Workstation Products Pty Ltd for Sponsoring the OVS Awards. www.ergoworkstation.com.au
Thank you to the Greenbank Community Hall for a great venue and thank you to our wonderful audience for your support and efforts in bringing the Star Appeal!

2012 OVS End-of-Year “Star Appeal – We all have it!” Concert

Act One opened with an inspiring poem “The Star is there Within You” written especially for the concert by Daniel Ivinson. The poem was proceeded by Ofelia’s performance of the Emmy Award winning song written by Albert Hammond and John Bettis and recorded by Whitney Houston for the 1988 Olympics, “One Moment in Time”.

“The Star is there Within You”
Written by Daniel Ivinson

The Star is there within you,
Just waiting to be revealed.
We need to let our talents shine,
Not let them stay concealed.

For every voice is different,
And no two dreams the same.
Have the courage to burn your brightest
And let no heart be tame.

My words are but the opening curtain,
To start our show with rhyme.
So sit back and watch our stars,
Try capturing their one moment in time!

Act Two opened with an inspiring poem “Dreams” written by Daniel Ivinson. The poem was proceeded by Ofelia’s performance of the 2010 FIFA World Cup Theme Song written and recorded by Shakira, “Waka Waka (This Time for Africa)”

Written by Daniel Ivinson